Today in the Kitchen

BREAKFAST

If I’m being honest, breakfast is my favourite meal of the day.  It can be savoury or sweet.  Healthy or unhealthy.

What I make really depends on how I’m feeling in the morning.

For example; if I wake up feeling heavy, either from a big dinner the night before or just having a not so great reaction to something I ate, I tend to stick to lighter and healthier breakfast.

This was the case this morning so I opted to make some 12 grain toast topped with a thin layer of cream cheese and a slice of tomato, accompanied by half a banana and a nice cup of coffee.

12895256_10156642591130542_1002348554_n

 

 

 

 

 

 

Other things that I like to eat for breakfast on “light days” are:

  • 2 egg white scramble with some fresh vegetables such as peppers or tomatoes.

or

  • fruit salad sprinkled with cinnamon and drizzled with honey.

On days where I can handle something a little heavier, I enjoy the following:

  • oatmeal (usually sweetened by mashed banana or honey and topped with a ever-changing variety of fruits and seeds).
  • 2 egg omelette generally made with mushroom, onion, pepper, tomato, and sometimes cheese.
  • pancakes (Either the quick 3-ingredient or the full-on recipe ones).

or

  • breakfast skillet (generally involving eggs, potatoes, some sort of meat, and various vegetables).

LUNCH

I was out at my mother’s store today spending some time with her while my boyfriend was at work.  Knitting away with my new gorgeous yarn (more on that later).  So a home-made lunch was not on the menu today.  However, there is this adorable little cupcake shop right beside her called Kake Kreations, who sells amazing in-house made little lunches from 11-3.

I decided to go for the Roast Beef sandwich and oh my gosh was it ever good.  My mother also picked up 6 adorable little cakes for easter dinner tomorrow, and I am so excited to eat one!

12919000_10156644234260542_955994754_n

DINNER

My boyfriend decided to make vegetarian biryani rice today for dinner.

12919291_10156647002295542_300239964_n

The flavour in this dish is really really good.  However, the biryani spice is quite hot so I wasn’t able to consume as much as I would have liked.  But if you like and can handle spicy food this should definitely be on your to-try list. I told him next time to cut the amount of spice in half for me!

SNACKS

With some left over kale that I wanted to use up, I decided this morning at 5:30 AM (of all times) that I would make some Cajun and paprika kale chips.

12515991_10156644235245542_742508103_n (1)

 

 

 

 

 

 

How I made them:

  1. Wash the kale and dry it in a salad spinner, however because you want to REALLY make sure the kale is dry (or else your chips will be soggy) it is best to lay them out on a paper towel after you spin them to make sure they really do dry up.
  2. In a bowl mix dry kale, olive oil, paprika, Cajun spice, and salt together.  Make sure not to use too much oil just enough to coat.
  3. Spread them out on a baking sheet and pop them into a preheated 350 degree Fahrenheit oven for about 10 minutes (Or until dark green).
    1. Note that some of mine are brown, this is due to cooking for too long, as I had them in for 12 minutes.  They are not burnt per say but the ones that turned brown do taste slightly different.  Basically kale chips require constant checking to ensure this doesn’t happen to you!

My boyfriend and I also went for a walk along the lake shore (side note: WAY too cold to be walking by the lake shore) and we ended up in a small little art and espresso cafe.

The atmosphere was really nice, I love small coffee shops because the barista’s are usually really friendly and much more chatty than you generally find in chain coffee shops.  I had a dirty chai and my boyfriend had a mocha latte, and we both indulged in a peanut flavoured protein bar.

For anyone who can make it down to the lake shore in Pickering (The entrance on Liverpool) really should check this place out.  They have adorable art works all over the walls, which she mentioned she switches up frequently.  Today it was a bunch of abstract nudes, and I absolutely love admiring the beauty of the human anatomy so I really loved it.  On the shelves they also display some hand crafted mugs, all of which are for sale.

Let me know what your favourite thing to have for breakfast is?  I’m always looking for new ideas!

Ciao for now!

Leave a Reply

