Spiced Cocoa Cookies (An egg free recipe!)

The other week a friend brought some of her Mexican Hot Chocolate cookies to the communal knitting group, and after that day I’ve been itching to make my own batch of them.

Now, I had zero eggs in the house and no energy to go buy some, so off I went to find an eggless recipe. I found a base cocoa cookie recipe here: Eggless Chocolate Cookies.

Below I’ve listed the recipe and the changes I’ve made (some of my own and some from the comments on the original recipe)

14937935_10157631066295542_1901386020_n

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup butter, softened
  • 2 tablespoons coconut oil, melted
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 3-4 tablespoons brewed coffee
  • dash of vanilla extract
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder (I used powder as a mistake, only realized it said baking SODA after they were in the oven, so I imagine using soda or powder both work fine!)
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/3 cups cocoa powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne powder (I used 1/2 tablespoon, and they were way too hot for me, although still delicious, so I would suggest 1 teaspoon at most)
  • ground cinnamon

Directions:

  1. Cream the butter, coconut oil, sugar, and 1 tablespoon of the coffee together.
  2. Add another 2 tablespoons of coffee and the vanilla extract and beat well.
  3. In a separate bowl, mix the dry ingredients together (excluding the cinnamon!)
  4. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix together until combined, if it is too dry add 1 more tablespoon of coffee.
  5. Refrigerate for 30 – 60 minutes.
  6. Preheat oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit, and grease a cookie sheet.
  7. Separate the dough into small-medium sized balls and place onto cookie sheet (I got 18 cookies out of it).
  8. Lightly press down with a spatula, and sprinkle cinnamon on top.
  9. Bake for 10 minutes.
  10. Remove, allow to cool down and serve or store away for a later day!

I love these to bits (even though my mouth is on fire because of too much cayenne!)

Bye lovely’s!

Leave a Reply

