Thoughts on turning 25

Why does turning 25 feel so miserable?  It doesn’t have to be does it?  Or is that like a right of passage, to be utterly sad on your 25th birthday.  Because if so, I already accomplished the miserableness on my 24th birthday.

As a kid I always thought adults had there shit together.  And then I turned 21, had all my friends around me and realized that no one else had there shit together yet either.  And then I turned 24 and all my friends were too busy with careers and family’s and all the sudden I felt like I was the only one who didn’t have my shit together.

And maybe that’s my big problem.  I think I should have my shit together.  When in reality if you look at the spectrum of 25 year olds across the world.  Some have there shit together and some don’t.  Hell some people have there shit together when they’re 14, and others don’t quite figure it out until they’re halfway through their 50s.

I shouldn’t expect myself to be anywhere but where I am right now.  All other days of the year I content with my place in life and yet on my birthday suddenly it becomes a big issue.  It doesn’t make sense.  I can pay my rent, I can keep my bunny alive and healthy, I can run the office at work effectively, and I am in a happy and healthy relationship.  In the grand scheme of things I’m doing pretty good and I need, we all need, to stop beating ourselves up for where we are in life.  So what you haven’t reached your end goal yet?  If I have already reached my end goal by 25 what the hell would I spend the rest of my life working towards.

So here are some reasons that turning 25 is awesome:

  1. You can rent a car!
  2. According to car insurance companies you are suddenly less likely to get into a car accident.
  3. You’re still young enough and haven’t settled down yet that you don’t know where you’ll be in a year, or even 6 months.
  4. You’re still young enough for Leonardo DiCaprio to want to date.

I’ve got somethings coming up in my 25th year of life personally, and here are some that I am looking forward to.

  1. Travelling – I am going away (far far away) for longer than 4 days for the first time in my life this year, and I’m excited and anxious.
  2. I want to go back to school part-time or take some online courses to further my education, no set plans yet, but hopefully I can make it happen this year.
  3. I intend to explore more opportunities in my career path this year, now that I am no longer considered an “entry level” applicant (hooray 2 years of experience!)

Namaste everyone and have a happy new year ❤

Leave a Reply

